I love knitting lace

I have decided that I love knitting lace.  Its tedious, frustrating, and sometimes it takes half an hour to finish a single row, but I love watching the pattern appear, the feeling of accomplishment when I finish an especially tough section, and especially the magic of blocking.  I made my first shawl last fall while I was on deployment in New Orleans and have been thinking about knitting another one ever since.  I cast on for Ingrid’s Bridal Knot Shawl from A Gathering of Lace last week as an experiment, and was pleasantly suprised to find that its not as difficult (so far) as I thought it would be.  I know its going to be a massive project, but I love the knotwork pattern.  There’s no way I’ll be able to memorize the pattern, but each row makes sense on its own.  I’m also proud that I learned something from my last knitting adventure – I now can tell what stitches go where compared to the row before by looking at the knitting, instead of just counting the stitches and hoping.

Oh yeah, I’m using Knitpicks Alpaca Cloud yarn in sand.  I bought it for another project but this one called too loud.

And I think I know what I want to knit for the olympics…the Leaf Lace Shawl by fibertrends.  I need to translate my love of lace knitting into something useful for everyday use (as well as something I’ll finish before 2007).  I want to use a medium-weight yarn for warmth, something soft and yummy but not too pricey.  More on that later.

Coming soon…pictures of my most recent FO – “Lisa” by Debbie Bliss, a sleeveless turtleneck sweater, blue, knit with cashmerino aran.  Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

