Ernesto’s on the way

Its strange…living in Florida for my first Hurricane season, the first website I check in the morning is no longer my email or bloglines; its the Weather Channel.  And here’s todays’ news:

ernesto.jpg

It figures.  You know where I live?  The peninsula that makes that little divot in the west coast of Florida.  After seeing some of the typical everyday thunderstorms we get here, I’m a little nervous, but its reassuring knowing that I’ll be at work if it comes our way.  We get a mandatory call-in when any hurricane is within 150 nautical miles, and we’re expected to be on duty for the next 4 days straight (12 hours on, 8 off).  The pay would be nice of course, but I’d rather not have to deal with it.  Oh well, we’ll see what happens.  Either way, I’m off to Wal-Mart to stock up on snacks, socks, and T-Shirts in case I get to spend four (or more) days straight at work.  Updates as I get them.

Leave a Reply

