Very disappointed with Apple

So, I was all excited last night because my new laptop was set to ship yesterday.  I woke up this morning and checked my email…and found an email from Apple that wasn’t sent until THIS MORNING informing me that “Due to an unexpected delay” they weren’t able to ship my products on time.  That now, in fact, my estimated ship date isn’t until Sept. 14th – one day AFTER I was originally supposed to receive my order.

So I called Apple.  Got a very nice sounding girl on the phone (sounded about 12 years old) who said that my computer is still in manufacturing.  So I pointed out that if my computer hadn’t even been made yet as of yesterday (the day it was supposed to ship), couldn’t they have realized this a little sooner and informed me of the delay?  She didn’t seem to grasp the concept.  “Ma’am, your laptop is still in manufacturing.  The estimated ship date is the 14th.”  (over and over again.)  So not impressed.  So I told her that that was unacceptable and that they needed to give me overnight shipping when they finally did get around to sending it.

“Oh, they already did that.  Your order is already marked for Overnight shipping.”

(Me) But the estimated arrival date is the 21st – a week later.”

“Well, they do that just in case there’s a delay.”

(Me) “Well that doesn’t make it OVERNIGHT then does it?”

Ugh.  Sorry for the ramble, I’m just REALLY frustrated.  You’d think for the amount of money these things cost that they could have some better customer service.  I changed the order to ship as items arrive (rather than all at once) so the laptop is estimated to arrive on the 19th (and ship the 18th.  I don’t know how it went from the 14th to the 18th in one conversation.) and the rest will straggle in I guess.  I just want my darn computer!

In knitting news, I have only 40 rows left on the center of the shawl!  I’m on target to finish by Saturday so I should have pictures.  The only good thing to come of this delay with the computer?  I’m buying more yarn for while I wait 🙂

2 responses to “Very disappointed with Apple

  1. Oh, Lisa. I have tears streaming down my face after reading today’s blog. Tears because I was laughing so hard (sorry). It could be a skit on Monty Python – remember the dead parrot?
    I can only imagine how disappointed you are that it isn’t coming as quickly as expected though. Hang in there. Love ya, Grandma

  2. Poor Lisa! Bad Apple! Bad Customer Service Girl! (Was she at least an American?) It’s actually incredibly difficult to get good, caring, intelligent customer service reps. Ask me how I know…

Leave a Reply

