Big day!

Today was the big day…I got my braces on! I’ll spare you all the details (if you want to read more, check out my dental blog). Here’s my new smile:

It’ll take a little getting used to, but its still exciting 🙂

I was at the yarn store the other day and found out – they have a SPINNING section! I never knew that! Needless to say, I walked out with more than I planned on buying. I got myself a hand spindle (1.7 oz, canarywood, handmade by a local guy) and 4 oz of yummy fiber to practice with. I’m really proud – I can spin pretty thin with the hand spindle! It takes a lot longer but I’m really happy with what I’m getting. Check it out:

I’ve got today and tomorrow off to adjust to the braces, so the plan is to spin up enough of the new wool for a skein and see how it comes out. I know I’m starting to sound like a broken record, but I’m still plugging away on the celtic knot shawl – I’m on row 34 of 106 on the outside, and each row is around 850 stitches. It’ll be done….eventually.

One response to “Big day!

  1. Congrats on the braces. I got them at 24 also.

    Advil is your friend for about 2 days after tightening.

    Floss as much as you can.

    There’s little brushes that you can buy at the drugstore that are made for dentures. They are coned shaped and perfect for getting around the wires to get food out.

    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

