Happy Thanksgiving

A special “on the road” edition of the blog, brought to you courtesy of free WiFi from the Rally gas stations. I’m at work (double time and a half almost makes up for missing thanksgiving dinner but in no way comes near to making up for not being home in NY). Adam’s mom made a turkey, chocolate pudding pie, and other assorted yummy things, but I’ll have to wait until tomorrow (or more likely, 2am when I get home from work) to enjoy them.

I’ve been a little down lately, thinking about the holidays and knowing I won’t be home for them (well except for the BEST holiday of the season – my BIRTHDAY in two weeks!). It shouldn’t be such a big deal since I’m always working anyway, but it was always nice to swing by Grandma’s house with the ambulance or stop by Mom’s on Christmas morning before I left for work. Being in Florida it hardly feels like the holiday season anyway – its 65 degrees and sunny, and palm trees don’t quite give me the holiday spirit. Adam and I both work Christmas Day but we don’t leave until noon, so we can do a “Christmas morning” thing at home, and I’m bringing Christmas to Rochester a few weeks early when I visit so be prepared!

I didn’t want this post to get depressing – its sad that i won’t be home, but today I’m trying to think of all the things I’m thankful for instead of whining about the things that aren’t so good. And really – I’ve got it pretty good. I have a wonderful family who have been nothing but supportive of me with the move this year, even though I know they would rather have me there. I have a great relationship with a wonderful man who puts up with me on a day-to-day basis even though I know thats not always easy. I have a good job, a roof over my head, and enough to eat. AND I have a plane ticket home in less than two weeks 🙂

Oh yeah…and a cute cuddly cat

jake-and-his-bed2.jpg

2 responses to “Happy Thanksgiving

  1. Sure missed you too! No EMT visits for dessert – can’t wait to see you in 2 weeks. We “curbed” two great chairs for the living room thanks to a call from your Mom as they left last night! Love you lots, Grandma

  2. Ah, the poopsmith at his old house.

Leave a Reply

