Finally, something finished

Too bad this wasn’t a christmas present, because this is some great timing.

finished-telemark-sweater.jpg

I finished the Telemark Sweater, and even sat myself down right away to do the seaming while I still had the momentum. The body came out much bigger than I intended (I wanted it to be fitted, like in the picture online) but I’m pretty happy with the end result. Its very comfy, suprisingly warm, and I can wear a turtleneck underneath (I’m not a fan of wool against my neck). I wonder if I could take in the sides somehow…I’m thinking perhaps a steek, then seam it together? I’m not going to do anything rash, but I’ll keep it in the back of my mind.

And of course, the gratuitous “inside-of-the-sweater” picture:

inside-of-telemark-sweater.jpg

I like the outside almost as much as the inside.

The gauge problem is my own fault – I based it off my swatch, which (now that I know how to actually knit color work) was way too tight. The neck is small compared to the rest of the sweater – its actually the part that fits me best! But it means I couldn’t give this sweater to anyone who would fit the body of it, because the neck would be way too small. I wasn’t super impressed with the pattern, some of the calculations seemed a little wonky (like the one for the neck – if my gauge had been correct, I wouldn’t have been able to fit my head through the neck opening…or perhaps I just have a big head?). The pattern is based on EZ’s percentage method for building a sweater, which was irritating at first but I really appreciate now.

Things I learned:
A swatch is a good thing. The whole swatch. A good swatch.
Color is fun.
Be patient. And do things right.
SWATCH!

I still love it. Yay sweater đŸ™‚

3 responses to “Finally, something finished

  1. Beautiful sweater, Lisa! It would be perfect for skiing in NYS if we only had some snow. Warm temps and a green Christmas predicted.
    Love you lots,
    Grandma

  2. What a gorgeous sweater! Great work! Like Grandma says, if only it would get cold enough to wear it. May it’s cooler in Florida than in Indiana and New York?

    Love, Uncle^2 Pete

  3. LISA! Gorgeous backyard and knitting projects! It was great to see the cardigan since I saw you start it!
    Hope all is well and hope to see you in March!!!!

Leave a Reply

