Thanks, Mom!

New to my bookshelf: Victorian Lace Today, and Cables Untangled. Fantastic books! I love that Victorian Lace Today talks about the history of lace knitting, the whys and hows. It boggles my mind to think that hundreds of years ago people not only came up with these amazing patterns, but spun their own yarn to knit them. Cables Untangled is a great “how to” book that I think will do a lot to help me understand how and why cables work, and there are some nice patterns as well. Between the two books I have enough projects flagged to keep me busy for a while πŸ™‚

I also found something else under the Christmas Tree…a pound of gorgeous soft llama wool! (Is it wool if it comes from a llama? Llama fur then?) It feels very soft and sproingy, and I can’t wait to card and spin some up.

Adam and also got plenty of painting supples, as well as a gift certificate to Home Depot and one to Lowes. The current tenants are out tomorrow, we do the final walkthrough Thursday, and Friday I start painting! We chose some great colors – a warm dark green for the garage den/Adam’s room, a lovely muted blue for the second bedroom/my yarn room, and a reddish wine color for the guest bedroom. Hopefully we can get all this done in a few days, because we’re planning on getting the U-Haul next Tuesday and officially moving in. Yay!!

As soon as I finished the Telemark Sweater (temporarily – I still want to modify it eventually) I needed something new. Its getting nippy here in Florida (sorry, but for here it is) and it’s perfect Cardigan weather. And I need more. So I went to the yarn store last Thursday and bought yarn to make Ariann. I love it. I’m using Cascade 220 a la Cara in an off-white color (to go with everything). I love it. I made it to the armpits at work last night and realized I left my DPNs at home and couldn’t start the sleeves. Today I pulled out my DPNs, and realized that my #7’s are missing. So I have a wrist on my size 6’s. Tomorrow on the way to work I’m totally buying new #7’s. I can always use two pairs, if the others turn up. If this turns out well, I’ll definitely make another (or a few) in some brighter colors. The yarn cost about $40, so its actually (for once) cheaper than buying one at the store. Yay!

Thats all for now. Have to get up bright and early tomorrow to go see the orthodontist (lost a bracket by eating some off-limits food – oops!) and buy more DPNs. And hand cards for my Llama. Life is good πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

