Productive Week

I finished a sock:
orange-sock.JPG
“Denmark” from Nancy Bush’s Knitting on the Road in KnitPicks Gloss in the Pumpkin colorway. These are my work knitting and since we have been so busy the last few weeks, this one took me two weeks to finish.

Next…my Christmas present from Adam came this week!
new-wheel.JPG
It’s put together but needs some wood wax and a little lubricant for the joints. I got the single treadle double drive version, and I can’t wait to get it going! Now all she needs is a name…

I spent the last few weekends in the backyard cleaning, building, digging, and planting. Here are some of the results:
banana-grove.JPG
Its our mini banana grove! I chopped them back but they’re already putting out leaf shoots 🙂 Apparently bananas grow quickly!

veggie-gardens.JPG
This was today’s project – raised vegetable gardens. I used 1×8’s to make two 4×6 beds, filled them with fertilizer and topsoil, and planted some veggies. Hopefully in the next few months I’ll be able to go outside and pick my own fresh salad, beans, corn…this of course all depends on me actually being able to grow anything…BUT if you look closely you can see that some of the seeds I started (corn and beans) have already sprouted and are happily transplanted in their new home 🙂

Here’s the “finished” portion of the backard – we have our own jungle!
backyard-jungle.JPG
The fireplace was a housewarming gift from Adam’s buddies from work. We haven’t had a chance to break it in yet, but it looks great!

I intentionally left out the rest of the backyard, because it’s not looking as great. The pool has a leak somewhere and the sides are buckling a little – not to the point of breaking (yet) but enough that we had a talk this week and decided we’re probably going to take the pool out. We have some more important things to take care of first (doors, windows, electric, etc) but then we’ll drain it, bring in some fill dirt, and lay grass seed. More on that later.

Now I’m going to sit, watch TV, and knit on the bridal knot shawl. It needs some love 🙂

One response to “Productive Week

  1. I have enjoyed your blog. Please take a look at mine about gardening

Leave a Reply

