Not much to say…

I’ve been waiting to post until I had a finished project to show, or something interesting to talk about, but there hasn’t been much – just status quo. I finished Wicked v.2.0:

Wicked 2.0

I like it a lot 🙂 Now the weather just has to cool down so I can wear it.

I have three single socks, and last night and tonight I finally gave in and cast on for their mates. I figure if I do a little at a time on each one, I won’t get sick of them. I don’t usually do knit-a-longs, but Socktober is coming at the perfect time for me, so I plan to not only finish these three but try some new patterns as well. I have plenty of sock yarn (enough for four other pairs), and I promised myself I can’t buy any more until I use those up. My LYS started stocking Jitterbug and 4 oz batts of beautiful colorful roving, so I have plenty of motivation!

The only other news here is on the health front (aka – boring and more than anyone probably cares to hear), but it means a big change for my everyday life and I wanted to mention it. I’ve been thinking for a while that I had some type of food intolerance or allergy, and after a lot of thought and research I ended up thinking the same thing I thought two years ago…that gluten is my problem. I started a gluten free diet at the end of August, and within a few days I felt fantastic. Long story short, I went to the doctor today and he agreed that I have Celiac disease or gluten intolerance (the only way to tell the difference is a scope and a biopsy, so I said no thanks – the treatment is the same). The treatment: cutting out all gluten from my diet. No medications, no treatments, just a lifestyle change. It’s been tough, but I feel better than I have in a very long time, and that’s worth the change.

Why am I mentioning this here? Because everywhere I turn, it feels like people are offering me pizza, or cookies, or any number of other things I can’t have. When I say no, everyone assumes I’m on a diet and says “but you’re so skinny!” I just wanted to ask that you guys, who know me best and who care enough about me to be reading this, please be nice and don’t torture me 🙂 (If I see one more Pizza Hut commercial I’m going to scream!)

On the plus side, I’m cooking more and eating much more healthy overall (no more fast food for me, even if I wanted it!). I did give in and bake cookies tonight – Mom’s snickerdoodle recipe, with gluten-free flour. It needs a little tweaking but tastes SOOO good after rice cakes and tortilla chips!

Okay, health break over. Back to knitting! And spinning! Christmas is coming…

3 responses to “Not much to say…

  1. Pingback: Birthday And Wedding Cakes » Not much to say…

  2. take a look at this and if anything looks interesting to you let me know and ill bring it down when i come down in november.

    http://www.traderjoes.com/Attachments/gluten_free.pdf

    Also Ill make my cheesecake – or flourless chocolate.. your choice. I prefer the former.

  3. I wish you the best with your new diet. It takes a little while to get used to eating gluten free, but it’s all worth it. How I feel without eating gluten is just great!

    If you want, swing by my blog and check out all the links for Celiac Disease, other gluten free bloggers, travel resources, and places/companies to buy gluten free food.

    Congratulations on your new found good health!

    Sheltie Girl @ Gluten A Go Go

Leave a Reply

